Skip to content

The Journey of the Eye

08/03/2013

The Journey of the Eye

The Journey of the Eye, part two. Independence Day, the clinic is closed. I walk to Emergency Room just to complete my obligation for the eye. The very sentence I walk to Emergency Room incriminates the walker as healthy, and still. I walk with sunglasses on and as I walk into the hospital I take it off. Not because of the sun, it doesn’t bother me, but because of the hospital people, who are programmed to look at faces a little differently. The eye clinic is located on the 11th floor and has a magnificent view. When you look at the hospital from outside you cannot see that these buildings are in fact just a glorious instrument for observation of the Mediterranean. I am pleased by the new discovery and relieved in the name of the anonymous patient. The doctor calls me. She asks whether I’m allergic to something. Not that I know, except Independence Day, of course. Can an eyelash become swallowed due to Independence Day allergic reaction? There’s no record of a similar case in the medical literature. The doctor puts eyedrops to expand the pupils. The drops must be also expanding my brain a little bit, because on the way home I experience a second revelation starting this morning. The first revelation was that there’s no other way and if Erez and I wish to remain a part of human society we shall have to hire the services of a cleaning lady. The second revelation is something that may be a little close to understanding of reincarnation, a belief I could never understand till today. Something about how each person could have equally been born a box, or a street lamp, or anything, and therefore if you happen to be a human being, why don’t you try to really be a human being, or something of that sort. And maybe it wasn’t just the pupil extending eyedrops, but also the swollen eyelash, that has been making the consciousness behind it swollen for the last two days with questions of aesthetics and identity and hiding and belonging and what is it anyway to have a face.

One Comment
  1. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every
    day. It will always be helpful to read articles from other
    writers and practice something from other sites.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

