Skip to content

Europe’s Plazas

08/03/2013

Europe's Plazas

When we reached Plaza Mayor I told Lisa that it reminds me of a certain Piazza in Florence and another one in Toulouse, and that always when I travel abroad I feel in waves as if I’m somewhere else in the world that I visited in the past and not exactly in the place I’m standing at on that particular moment, and that she could imagine that a little hidden alley would have come out of the plaza in Madrid – like Narnia’s door – and it would lead to that piazza in Florence, and that the piazza in Florence would have a little hidden alley that leads to the plaza in Toulouse, and that the plaza in Toulouse would have a little alley that would lead to another European plaza, and that all the European plazas that look alike would have been connected to each other through hidden alleys. Later I thought that I would have liked to write a story about it, and as always I didn’t know what I’ll write and how I’ll write the story. I thought that it could help if I’d open books and learn more than I already know about these countries. Europe’s plazas are connected to each other architectonically, politically, linguistically, religiously, climatically. In fact the only way I can think of in which they aren’t connected is physical. And had the plazas been connected physically, through some small alleys, then there wouldn’t be any wonder about the architectonic, political connection etc, would there – then what’s the point in a literary idea of a hidden physical connection between the plazas of Europe? I don’t know. Enthusiasm to write the story exists, and it must be proof of the point. The thing is that the more I take distance from the place and the moment in which I thought about an idea for a story the idea fades till complete demise. When I stood there in the plaza and felt the plazas of Toulouse and Florence massing me from all directions there was perfect simultaneousness – between the plazas, between the idea and the location, between the moment and the desire. Simultaneousness is a fertile environment for the creation of ideas, but writing a story is not the art of simultaneousness. The same way the famous plazas of Europe have to be distant from each other hundreds of miles in order for the hidden alleys to exist, there must exist some space between the beginning of a story and its end for the short hidden alley called “idea” to be able to connect its constituents. 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

