Skip to content

Moral Relativism and the Amusement Park

03/03/2013

Moral Relativism and the Amusement Park

When I looked on Saturday at the amusement park’s facilities and heard the kids’ screams I understood that as opposed to what I thought so far I do not believe in moral relativism. A new facility, new in terms of relativism-when-I-was-next-to-the-amusement-park-last-time, old in terms of looks-as-if-it-was-pulled-out-of-a-garbage-damp, rose vertically next to the roller coaster and grabbed my entire attention. Unlike nice looking facilities like the Pirate Ship which successfully disguise their only goal – to harvest your heart through your toes for organ trade purposes – this facility didn’t use any disguise. It was a wide, ugly, tall and simple pole, along which an elevator with kids travelled, up and down, up and down, again and again, and all it seemed to say was “we’ll get your heart out through your toes, then we’ll put it back inside and take it out again through your prefrontal cortex. we’ll get your heart out through your toes, then we’ll put it back inside and take it out again through your prefrontal cortex. Come, it will be fun, even hecks. I stood outside the fence and watched the torture elevator going up and down. I heard the kids’ screams disappearing towards the clouds, and getting closer again. Disappearing towards the clouds, and getting closer again. They’re enjoying it, Rachel, they’re enjoying it, I tried to force myself to think. But I couldn’t, I just couldn’t. People are being tortured and slaughtered behind the border in Syria, I remember. People are being slaughtered behind the border, and you’re standing here looking at kids screaming of pleasure in the amusement park and you choose to do nothing about it, to do nothing to end their shocking joy. No, I understood on that very moment, there is no validity to Moral Relativism. A torture facility is a torture facility is a torture facility. These kids might be thinking they’re having the time of their life. These kids might indeed be having the times of their life. But these kids are wrong. These kids are locked in ignorance and darkness. A torture facility in the amusement park is a torture facility like any other. And it is my duty as a free, potent and above all moral person to put an end this terrible thing.

From → Otherness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

